top of page
  • Writer's pictureMandisa Nduli

30 Day Challenge, with a twist


There comes a time when you speak about something so much, you eventually have to just do it right? Last year I spoke so much about all the wonderful things I secretly wanted to do and never did, because of my disease for perfection and to please.


To avoid laziness and to start challenging myself as often as I can last year, I sadly only managed to do about 3 challenges that I can remember; Daniel Fast, 30 Days of yoga and 30 days of going vegan. I don't remember doing anything particularly significant that changed my habits, to improve my life previously, I was dangerously going with the flow. I have known/read for a while that it takes 21 days to change your habits according to research ( outdated information of course ) however, research today argues that read the article to find out more- It makes sense why the "21 Days" myth would spread. It's easy to understand. The time frame is short enough to be inspiring but long enough to be believable. And who wouldn't like the idea of changing your life in just three weeks?


I then thought of creating a 7/30 day challenge for myself, eventually getting people to join me,to bring in sponsors and to build a community around taking back my health. Doing a challenge through this method was purely based on my need for freedom and of choice. I personally dislike being too strict on myself and restricted when it comes to me deciding what to do with my body, my mind or activities that I would love to incorporate into my life, as a lifestyle.


For the purpose of community, the month of February 2019 I have started the 7/30 plank challenge. My personality looks at this challenge and wants to simply go straight ahead, to do 5 minutes a day for 30 days, but I'll try stick to this one as much as I can. I'll be writing down thoughts and certain changes both mind and body. I say this time because, I embarked on a 5 minute skipping and 100 lunges challenge towards the end of December last year ending 31 January 2019, and never wrote down any notes on the whole experience. I am on day 3 for planks today and definitely no significant changes thus far. I personally don't mind starting new challenges at any point of the month so, please do not wait for March to do it, simply start your 30 days as soon as you can.


So it's just that simple. We have good days and certain days, circumstances simply do not allow you to do the challenge you have set up to do . 7/30 Allows you the grace, the non-judgement on yourself and the freedom to push yourself. Do 30 full days if that is in your nature, and do as many (hopefully 21 as your minimum) as you can. I find that doing the 7/30 challenge for me makes me want to push myself even more and sometimes I actually push myself to complete the whole 30 (Basing off last years challenges). At the end of the day,we do this for the promotion of self-love and taking care of the you fully one breath, one movement and one connection at a time.


Please feel free to share what challenges you have done that have changed your life, I might want to try it out some time this year too.




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page